The Flying Charleston   2 comments

Swing dancing. Energetic, upbeat, and extremely fun. Growing up, the idea of dancing always intrigued me. I always wanted to be able to dance like the people that I watched on ‘So You Think You Can Dance’ with my mom. Which sounds like a stereotypical thing for a young female to say but even if it is, It’s still true. The problem was that I never believed that I was graceful enough to be a dancer even if it was just for fun like I wanted it to be. So the only dancing that I really did was the awkward high school dance kind where you just jump up and down and hope it goes with the beat.

That is until my friend Mara invited me to go swing dancing with her. I was pretty eager and accepted to offer to go hang out with the swing dancing crowd at her college.How it worked was they had a class before hand for beginners and then more people showed up for the actual dance. I had a blast and got to learn some awesome moves. My favorite was the flying Charleston which I’m not even sure how to explain in writing but it was fun to do and I am sure I looked like an absolute dork doing it but the fact that it put a smile on my face was the only thing that really mattered to me.

swing dancing 8

My friend Mara and I doing the tunnel

My friend Mara leading me in a spin

My friend Mara leading me in a spin

The whole night I was being passed among the group of people and told to follow their lead. It was great being able to see how each person had their different kind of styles even if the differences were just minute. I was told by a few that I picked it up fast which made me smile. I’m not sure if they were just being nice or if they actual meant it but I have decided to start actually believing the compliments that people give me so as far as I’m concerned I’m a fast learner when it comes to swing. Several of the dancers and my friend invited me to come back next time that they dance and I definitely am going to take them up on the offer.

-An Extraordinary No One who has her dancing shoes on

Posted March 14, 2015 by Extraordinary Nothing in Uncategorized

2 responses to “The Flying Charleston

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Update! 101 challenge | Extraordinarily Nothing

  2. Pingback: 101 things in 1001 days | Extraordinarily Nothing

Leave a Reply

