Fire82   3 comments

I did something today that is pretty exciting and I’m going to a little bit shamelessly be excited about it as well as a little bit of shameless advertising. Today I shipped out my first t-shirt to a paying customer. If you have read any of my pre-training posts, you may have read something about me wanting to launch my own t-shirt business because I make these pretty awesome (if I don’t say so myself) bleach t-shirts. This all started back at the midnight premiere of the first Hunger Games movie. I wanted to wear something special that would represent my excitement but I didn’t want to go full out. The result was this:

FullSizeRender (3)

I put a quote from the book and bleached it on my shirt. I got awesome feed back and even people who didn’t know me all that well were coming up and asking me where I had bought my shirt, complete strangers as well as classmates who I didn’t really know since I had worn it to school that day. I was feeling pretty awesome and I started  making them as gifts for people at Christmas and they reacted really well. Then my senior year my friend went to a science convention. This friend probably owns the most bleach shirts that I made besides well me because she really enjoys them so I made us matching nerdy shirts.

FullSizeRender (2)

My friend had a black one with the same words which is in reference to Hank Green of the Vlogbrothers who one time had a freak out about the universe not having an edge.

FullSizeRender (4)

FullSizeRender (5)

I also made us song lyrics shirts also from Hank Green. The one pictured about is mine which has some of the words from The Universe is Weird. My friend had a shirt with the words to Strange Charm on it. We were at this fancy luncheon with our group which consisted of a few high school students, their teachers, and then a bunch of people from out community. My friend and my physics teacher were really the only two people that I knew in the group so I was sitting by them at a still partially empty table when one of the community members sat down and started a conversation with us. About half way through our conversation, he realized that my friend was wearing a shirt that talked about quarks (Strange Charm). He asked her if it was indeed a shirt about quarks and if so where she had gotten it. She just pointed to me and explained that I had made it. He was rather impressed and asked if I had ever thought of selling them. I honestly hadn’t but an idea started to form in my mind after that science convention. The idea unfortunately died off a bit because I didn’t want to launch a business knowing that I would be gone for half a year in the near future so it was put on the back burner.

When I got back from training though, one of my army friends found this blog and excitedly asked me one day about what kind of business I wanted to start. I explained to him that I made t-shirts and he wanted to see one. Since we were skyping, I grabbed the nearest one of my creations and held it up to the camera for him to see. He was pretty impressed as well and told me he wanted one. Since he was a friend and I normally just would make them for my friends I was like yeah sure no problem just give me your address. Then he told me that he wanted to be my first paying customer. I finally agreed to it and made him the design that he requested and shipped it out to him this morning. It was rather exciting and definitely put me back on track to actually do this.

All this being said if you are interested in one of my Fire82 t-shirts (which you can have me put any words on for the most part and even simple designs), feel free to e-mail me at lz.fire82@gmail.com and we can figure out the details from there.

Some more of the shirts I have made:

FullSizeRender (6)

We had a Freshman Senior buddy week at my school. My freshman and I both really like Batman so I made us matching t-shirts.

FullSizeRender (7)

Her’s said Freshman on the back.

FullSizeRender

If you couldn’t tell, I kinda am a super hero nerd.

-An Extraordinary No One who is ready to launch Fire82

Posted March 18, 2015 by Extraordinary Nothing in small business

Leave a Reply

