A year ago yesterday   Leave a comment

July first 2014 I left for basic training. I got stranded in the Chicago air port by myself for more then 24 hours first because my flight got cancelled and the second because I read the time on my new ticket wrong and missed the flight. I remember calling my best friend and sobbing asking how I would ever learn how to save a life if I couldn’t even read my ticket right. Needless to say it was a bit of a stressful day. I read The Outsiders and left it in the air port for the next person and finally got on my flight to DC which the flight to South Carolina was from but that got cancelled…. But at least I wasn’t by myself anymore I had met up with an other group of stranded future solders. We eventually made it to South Carolina and most of us eventually graduated and moved on to more training. It was a crazy up and down ride and it is insane to me that was a year ago.

A year ago I had broken up with my now ex because I was leaving. Today, I’m living with the love of my life (yup cliche title but accurate). I was living with my parents (I mean leaving to go to training but still coming back to live with them) but now I rent an apartment. I had a just above minimum wage and now I have a job I can actually support myself on. I am EMT certified and I have crossed a lot of things off of my list. I got a pet snake with my boyfriend. And have made a numerous of amazing friends. I am so thankful for all the doors that the army has opened up for me and I look forward to my next years in the service.

-An extraordinary nothing who has had one hell of a year

Posted July 3, 2015 by Extraordinary Nothing in Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

